Brian Cryer's Web Resources


Microsoft Certified Professional.

The Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP) certification is intended to demonstrate a proficiency in an area of Microsoft technologies. It is awarded by Microsoft as a means of showing that Microsoft recognises the individual as an expert on a specific Microsoft product or technology.

To become an MCP an individual must pass one Microsoft certified exam from any one of:

  • MCSA (Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator)
  • MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer)
  • MCDBA (Microsoft Certified Database Administrator)
  • MCAD (Microsoft Certified Application Developer)
  • MCSD (Microsoft Certified Solution Developer)
  • MCDST (Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician)

This list is not exhaustive. You are advised to check with Microsoft. Be aware that whilst MCP requires passing of only one certified exam, not all single exams grant MCP status.

Since an MCP requires only a single test it means that MCP is the cheapest and quickest certification available from Microsoft. It is often seen as the first step towards other certifications from Microsoft. Further certifications (for example to achieve MCTS) will require passing of further exams.

It follows that whilst an MCP may be regarded as an expert in one area it does not not follow that they are an expert or even competent in other areas.

The MCP certification does (or more specifically the exam that was passed) does need to be renewed periodically. This reflects that technologies change, advance and that some become obsolete.

For more information see: